With the Olympic football tournament just days away, I thought it would fitting to put a preview on how each team, will do in the competition.

Team GB

Outclassed by a good Brazil team on Friday night, many were critical of Team GB, however I thought for all their setbacks and the fact they facing the best side in the tournament, they played well in the second half, let’s remember the side hasn’t really played together, the Brazil side is a squad that have been playing together seen youth level. A side that has a good chance of winning the world cup on home soil in two years time. I think Team GB possess more quality than the likes of UAE and Senegal and getting a result in the first two games will be key, as the Uruguayans have some quality in their side such as Cavani and Suarez. They may have to play Brazil in the Semi Final this is where I feel they’ll suffer their downfall.

Verdict: Semi finals

Uruguay

For me, fielding the likes of Suarez and Cavani in their squad, Uruguay are my hot favourites for Group A, I feel they’ll get the results against the two weakest teams in the Group. They do also possess a decent backline, spearheaded by Liverpool’s Seb Coates, determined to prove his worth to Brendan Rodgers. However, I think Semi Finals might the last hurdle for Uruguay, with Spain or Brazil potential opponents.

Prediction:Semi Finals

UAE

I’m going to be honest and say I know nothing about this side. Their at the games for the first time, perhaps the fact their virtually unknown they could spring a surprise with their style or have a star playmaker in the ranks. The fact that all their players all play in UAE makes them all the more interesting, it shall be good to see the quality of the league they conjure up over there. I’m predicting them to finish bottom of the group, this may be a naive decision, but simply for the fact that UAE football isn’t high in the footballing world.

Prediction:4th in the group.

Senegal

If they were taking Demba Ba and Papiss Cisse, I would have made a case for them finishing ahead of Team GB, but for me, the current Senegal squad possess no real quality. They only just made it to the finals worming their way through a CAF-AFC playoff against Oman. Their star man, N’Doye, who was their best player in the African cup of nations 2012, will most probably struggle as his future at FC Copenhagen seems questionable. I have to say I think it depends on how good UAE are and how the opening game against Team GB goes, to be honest it could go any way for the Africans.
Prediction:3rd in the group.

Final Group Prediction
1.Uruguay- 7pts
2.GB- 7pts
3.Senegal- 3pts
4.UAE-0pts

20120722-213403.jpg

