Upon finding out the England squad earlier today, the names that stood were of course, Fraser Forster, Ryan Shawcross and Aaron Lennon. I was surprised at Forster’s call up, as I thought playing in the SPL would have put Roy off him, but I’m pleased Roy has been brave enough to call him up and I’m sure he won’t be disappointed, Forster is a top performer and the most consistent Celtic player. Ryan Shawcross was called up back in 2010 for a friendly with Egypt but was an unused substitute, Shawcross has long displayed top class performances for a Stoke side that doesn’t let in many goals and his performance against Manchester City in the recent 1-1 draw was clear evidence of his capabilities. Aaron Lennon is back in the frame after not appearing since the 2010 World Cup and its pleasing to see him back, Lennon is perhaps one of the most dangerous attacking players in the premier league and I have long admired his mazy runs into the penalty area and his eye for goal.

I was actually quite disappointed to see Rooney in the side, as his performances for the national team have never been amazing since Euro 2004 when he first broke onto the international scene. Infact, England performances are usually better with Rooney as our play doesn’t completely centre around him. I was surprised that Andy Carroll got the nod so soon after being injured, I’d rather have seen consistent Southampton striker, Rickie Lambert on the team sheet.

In all, he’s laying out a consistent team which is good as they can become unified and hold a ‘club like’ spirit. A win against San Marino should be fairly routine, while a trip to Poland could price difficult but I’m assured they’ll have enough to win it or at least take a point.

